Mehdi Hassan Bhatti

Mehdi Hassan Bhatti, born on October 4, 1955 in Burj Dara, Hafizabad, is a politician from Hafizabad District. He was an agriculturist by profession and received his education in Hafizabad.

Bhatti began his political career by being elected as MPA for the Punjab Assembly for three consecutive terms from 1985 to 1990. He served as MNA from 1993 to 1997 and from 2002 to 2007. During his tenure, he was the Chairman Standing Committee of the Ministry of Sports and Agriculture in the government of Prime Minister Zafarullah Khan Jamali, Shaukat Aziz, and Chaudhary Shujaat Hussain. He was also a member of various standing committees, including the Standing Committee on Communications, Standing Committee on Planning and Development, and Standing Committee on Water and Power.

Bhatti was affiliated with the Pakistan People Party (1993-2002), the Pakistan Muslim League (Q) (2002-2013), and is currently associated with the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (2017 to present). He is remembered for the development work he carried out in Hafizabad during his tenures, including upgrading Hafizabad from a Tehsil of Gujranwala to a District in 1993, and providing essential amenities like schools, electricity, telephone, metalled roads, and Sui Gas to the remotest villages of Hafizabad.

Bhatti’s brother, Liaqat Abbas Bhatti, has been elected as a member of the National Assembly three times and served as Federal Minister for Public Work Department from 2010 to 2013. His son, Shoukat Ali Bhatti, served as the Minister of Culture and Youth Affairs in the government of Chaudhary Pervaiz Elahi in Punjab.

Leave a Reply